Restore a historically significant passenger station for new use as a welcome center and museum devoted to the photography of O. Winston Link.
Roanoke Valley Visitors Center & O. Winston Link Museum
Originally constructed in 1905, the passenger station underwent a major restoration in the late 1940’s by industrial designer Raymond Loewy. 30 years later, passenger rail service was discontinued and the building was subdivided into office cubicles. A group of local arts and cultural organizations and preservationists set out to restore the building to its 1949 glory. The building now serves as a “door” to the Roanoke Valley for citizens and visitors. In addition to detailed restoration work, the building features a new office suite, conference room, gift shop, and a museum dedicated to the iconic photography of O. Winston Link.